Coffin Grant Recipients

Jackson Prize Recipients

Place Maker Award Recipients

Place Keeper Award Recipients

Lifetime Achievement Award Recipients

David R. Coffin Publication Grant for 2021

The Foundation for Landscape Studies is pleased to announce the recipient of the 2021 David R. Coffin Publication Grant, which is given for the research and publication of a book that advances scholarship in the field of garden history and landscape studies. The recipients are listed in alphabetical order.

Rolf Diamant and Ethan Carr
Olmsted and Yosemite: Civil War, Abolition, and the National Park Idea

Library of American Landscape History

Rolf Diamant of Woodstock is an adjunct associate professor in the University of Vermont’s History Department/Historic Preservation Program.

Ethan Carr is a professor of landscape architecture at the University of Massachusetts, Amherst. He is a landscape historian and preservationist specializing in public landscapes.

Catherine Seavitt Nordenson
The Miasmist: George E. Waring Jr. and the Sanitary Landscape

University of Texas Press

Catherine Seavitt Nordenson is a professor and director of the graduate landscape architecture program at the Spitzer School of Architecture, City College of New York

Jane Wolf
Bay Lexicon

McGill-Queen’s University Press

Jane Wolff is an associate professor at the University of Toronto’s Daniels Faculty of Architecture, Landscape, and Design and the author of Delta Primer: A Field Guide to the California Delta.

Mantha Zarmakoupi
Roman Landscape: Eco-critical Approaches to Early Imperial History

J. Paul Getty Museum Publications

Mantha Zarmakoupi is the Morris Russell and Josephine Chidsey Williams Assistant Professor in Roman Architecture and Urbanism in the Department of History of Art at the University of Pennsylvania.