Coffin Grant Recipients

Jackson Prize Recipients

Place Maker Award Recipients

Place Keeper Award Recipients

Lifetime Achievement Award Recipients

During its fifteen years of active operation, the Foundation for Landscape Studies sponsored an awards program consisting of the David R. Coffin Publication Grant, named in honor of the professor of architecture at Princeton University who was the pioneer scholar of landscape and garden history, and the J. B. Jackson prize awarded to a distinguished book published in the English language within the prior three years. At its annual benefit luncheon it conferred two trophies, one to a “place maker” – a landowner who has had the design imagination and horticultural knowledge to create a garden or estate landscape of exceptional beauty – and the other to a “place keeper – a land steward who possesses the sensitivity and management abilities needed to make an existing, publicly accessible landscape flourish. In three instances the Foundation conferred a Lifetime Achievement Award. Its recipients have been two eminent scholars, who pioneered landscape history as a field of academic endeavor through their production of a significant body of work in this new discipline, and one passionate plantsman who created an organization that sponsors the conservation and public accessibility of certain outstanding gardens that remain under the stewardship of their owners or are maintained by custodial organizations that preserve them within the framework of their original designs.